My First Cyclocross Race

Now this is only a little bit late…. Okay so it is a lot bit late but finally you can see some awesome pics from my first Cyclocross race. So let me tell you about it because I was pretty tickled with my results and how very fun it was.  Jon, I, and my nephew Will came to watch the race but we showed up late so we missed all of our buddies racing in the C class. They all did good, only one threw up afterwards (two is you count Brad who also raced the 11-14 class and hurdled mid way).  So naturally I was considering it.

And they're off

And they're off

After the sand then up the hill

After the sand then up the hill

As you know I wanted to race, but now that it was staring me straight in the face I was feeling a little nervous. So after having a huddle everyone convinced me. Okay. Over to sign up I went, of course by this time the race was only 10 minutes away so I had to run to the car and change (which by the way my windows are not tinted and I’m parked on the side of the street, so yeah I totally changed where anyone could see). The nice thing about racing in 10 minutes is I didn’t have long to fret about it. Thankfully I had talked to Ethan before and he had already prepped a bike for me, just in case.

Passing on the left

Passing on the left

Ignore the man with the money

Ignore the man with the money

So to the starting line I went. There were seven of us. Not to mention the wave in front of us and behind us. For half of us this was our first race. Thankfully a couple of girls had pre-ridden the course so they told me about the hairy spots… and off we went. I went off the line in third and was very proud that I never fell behind that. When we hit the hurdles I jumped off my bike, picked it up and passed the girl in front of me. Yep that’s right I passed her running up a hill in between hurdles with a bike on my shoulder, I might be just a tad bit proud of that.  Anyway by the time we finished the first lap I was in first. But of course I went down in some sand and decided hey I have forty seconds to blow I’ll just pedal aimlessly, blow through energy and knock my chain off before I start back up.  After all I didn’t want to win to easy…. Back in third place I decided that I had to win this. You can’t be in first lose it and not win. Ah that would be horrible so I was off again.

And she's down

And she's down

Forget the sand fix the chain

Forget the sand, fix the chain

Surprisingly I passed everyone on the climbs, first over the hurdles, the others all on a long steep climb on road at the end of the lap.  As I started up this last hill, I was still in second but I had passed another girl on this same hill the last time round so here I was hoping to do it again. At first it didn’t feel like I was gaining on her at all but finally a little over half way up I passed her. Then it came time to hammer down. I couldn’t tell how far she was behind me so I gave it everything I could and it completely wiped me out. When I passed that finish line (in first) I thought I was going to fall over. Yep two little laps completely wiped me out. I understood what McCarl was saying about throwing up now. Blah but I kept my stomach. 

         

Up the hill again *note my nephew cheering me on

Up the hill again *note my nephew cheering me on

Jump jump jump

Jump jump jump

So the moral of the story is, next year I’m going to have to ride B class and that kind of terrifies me because they are a lot better then I am.  Still it’s nice to have a good challenge, one that I plan to win. Look out next winter Hilly’s got 10 months to train. Ride on.

If this was the Scheldeprijs Vlaanderen you would see Mark Cavendish fly by as I start to celebrate to win

If this was the Scheldeprijs Vlaanderen you would see Mark Cavendish fly by as I start to celebrate to win

Leave a Reply

